“Our Lady of Fatima comes to help us”

img_9444
The International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Our Lady of Fatima at St. Theresa Co-Cathedral, 6 a.m. veneration and Mass, Feb. 6.

I (Darlene, HCH reporter/photographer) finally had my own personal chance to venerate the International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Our Lady of Fatima this morning at the Co-Cathedral of St. Theresa.

It was her last stop in Hawaii before heading to her next destination on the mainland. Even at 6 a.m., a couple dozen faithful were already at the co-cathedral praying the rosary and Divine Mercy Chaplet when I got there.

I specifically chose to visit Our Lady at this particular stop because I knew the morning quiet would be great for reflection, and I really wanted to start off this week with the graces of the Blessed Mother fresh in my heart. It amazes me that every time I take a photo of this statue, Our Lady’s countenance takes on a whole new light.

For me, Our Lady of Fatima brings peace, beauty and the possibility of miracles. I’m learning as I do this pilgrimage blog about the many diverse meanings Our Lady has to each person she comes across.

A lady named Maria, who went to venerate the statue at Our Lady of Good Counsel last week, sent us this testimony:

Our Lady of Fatima comes to help us. As I was preparing (myself) spiritually for a long break to take care of my husband before and after his surgery, on November 2014, Our Lady of Fatima came to Hawaii and I got to see her three times. It impacted me, her gentle presence in the church. During my husband’s recovery, I felt a complete peace and a feeling of trust that everything will be OK, even after heart complications on my husband’s surgery. I let go and let God be in (control) and accept his will whatever it was. My husband recovered and I knew that Our Lady was supporting us all the way until he made a complete recovery. I was not alone, Our Lady’s presence was with me all that week. Now on February 2017, I’m able to thank her in person for her help. Thank you loving mother.

Maria Alameda, shown here in her visit to Our Lady at the Co-Cathedral of St. Theresa, submitted this reflection written with the help of her friend Leah:

This is Maria’s relationship with the beautiful lady of Fatima. Maria is going to tell us two stories in which she will express why the beautiful lady means so much to her. When she was 14 years old she almost drowned in the river in the town she lived in. And at the time she did not think she would survive the incident. It was then she prayed to mariaalamedafatimalady Fatima the memorable. It was then that a woman showed up and seen her and a young friend as well drowning. She pulled both of them from the water and they survived with no complications or water in their lungs at all. The second story was when she was 26 years old and she now was living in the United States after leaving Portugal at age 21. She was heading to the beach with her three daughters, husband and brother. They had a small station wagon and they were towing a boat. They were going up on a very high bridge in New Jersey. To this day they do not know what happened but with no warning or wind the car started swerving one way and the boat was going another way and Maria said out loud “old lady Fatima please save us.” Her husband and brother were silent and her children were all crying. The car then stopped and the boat followed coming to a stop. They did not go into on coming traffic once and all the cars on the road all came to a stop, none of them hitting them as well. Once again Lady Fatima did what she does best and performed her miracles. Maria has many stories of how lady Fatima has answered her prayers. Maria visits Fatima, Portugal every time she visits home. It is one of her favorite places to go.

Leave a Reply

