With aloha and grace

Our heartfelt thanks to each and every one of you who have followed our “pilgrimage blog!” We hope the stories, testimonies and photos collected here have in some way enlightened your faith, and allowed you to learn about the International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Our Lady of Fatima.

The blog project certainly brought me closer to the Blessed Mother, reminding me of her ever-present intercession and the very real way she impacts our lives.

To wrap up our blog coverage, here’s a gallery of Our Lady’s stops on Oahu. Captions are provided for each photo. (Mahalo to Marie Tokuda Wong for sending in some great shots!)

And we conclude with two reflections. The first is from Barbara Hughes, who had the chance to see Our Lady at Holy Rosary Church in Paia, Maui. Barbara is not Catholic, but her husband Richard is. Barbara appreciates learning more about the Catholic faith:

As someone who comes from an evangelical background, being able to see the traveling International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Fatima was a unique experience for me. Learning about the miracles of Fatima is a faith-builder for the Body of Christ on earth today. My own spiritual life was enriched by this experience, which I’m still assimilating. I do so appreciate learning more about Our Lady, as this is very new to me. I know that God works in mysterious ways and He has us in a process of becoming His One Many-Membered Body. As all of us members of the Body of Christ discover each other, we have so very much to share and learn from each other. It is my firm belief that the Body of Christ is one body, just as Jesus and the Father are one. … Our God is truly so awesome a Father!

Our final reflection comes from radiologist Lorraine Manlolo. She had the blessing of being able to travel to the Big Island, Kauai, Maui and back home to Oahu to see Our Lady at every single one of her stops in Hawaii.

img_2515My mother and I have a special devotion to the International Pilgrim Statue of Our Lady of Fatima. I moved here to Oahu in the fall of 2001 to begin medical school, and during my first year of medical school, the pilgrim statue came to St. Augustine by-the-Sea, which my mother and I attended. When we got home, we could smell roses in our condo, but we had no flowers! After medical school, I moved to NY for residency and fellowship, and came back in 2011. In 2014, the pilgrim statue again came to visit the islands, and we were able to follow her to every church she visited here on Oahu, and even to the outer islands as those days fell on my days off from work. We truly feel the Blessed Mother’s presence in the pilgrim statue, and I believe all of my success in school and my career as a radiologist comes from praying devoutly and asking our Blessed Mother’s intercession for all our needs. My mother and I were able to follow the pilgrim statue once again to all the churches she visited on the outer islands and here on Oahu. It is truly an amazing experience to visit different churches and see all of us, from different cultures, honoring and praying devoutly to Our Mother. Many of these churches also had 24-hr adoration with the Blessed Sacrament exposed – what a beautiful opportunity to pray to Our Lord with His mother right beside him.  I am writing this on the eve of when the pilgrim statue will be leaving, and realize how she has, and always will be, right there beside me – listening to my prayers, and loving each and every one of us dearly. 

 

Leave a Reply

